Posted by: smortimer | 2010/03/09

More Shaving

Today I had my first shave with a double edged safety razor. My order had arrived and was waiting for me when I got home from work last night. I had purchased a Merkur 23c safety razor, a 60 blade sampler pack of razor blades, a puck of Mitchell’s Wool Fat shaving soap and a bottle of Pinaud Clubman’s Bay Rum After Shave splash.
This morning I finally got to have an old school shave. I have already been working on my lathering technique and I feel pretty good there. The difference between the mostly plastic gillette fusion and the solid metal 23c is night and day. Just holding it brings the feeling of real manly activities. The difference much like comparing cheap plastic kitchen knife you might order from a late night infomercial and a solid full tang chef’s knife.
I took my time, made sure I had a really good lather, prepped my face with a hot cloth and had a decent 3 pass shave. Now I am obviously a rookie here and I will need a lot of practice. I did not cut myself even though I did not get the closest shave I have ever had. I will however keep at it and I believe that before too long I will be getting that Baby bottom smooth (or BBS as it is called) shave that so many of the DE or straight razor enthusiasts speak so highly about!


Leave a comment

Categories