Posted by: smortimer | 2009/06/08

Weekend summary

Wal-Mart has let me down.  I am looking for a hot air popper and I went up to the huge Wal-Mart near me and they don’t sell any.  I need one to roast my green coffee beans.  A counter top roaster will run me at least $110, but a hot air popper can’t be more than $35 or so.  And from what I have read they work really well.

I picked up some green Costa Rican Tarrazu coffee beans from the Green Beanery last week, and I have been dying to roast them.  I have roasted beans in the oven once before,but it is hardly an exact science, not too mention it heats the entire house up.  And I am pretty sure our oven uses an awful lot more electricity than a counter top hot air popper.  So I am on the hunt for a hot air popper!

We have some sprouts in our garden too.  Some of the cucumbers and lettuce we planted have sprouted.  I thought it would be at least another week before we saw anything.  We have a fairly small garden, it’s only 8’x4′ and we have some daikon, Korean hot peppers, some beefsteak tomatoe plants, and then a bunch of seeds.  We planted cucumbers, two kinds of lettuce, yellow zucchini, basil and chives.  So I am looking forward to harvest time!

This weekend was a little weird, my wife had to work on both days.  I went to my mom’s to help paint on Saturday and then yesterday I ended up with the whole house to myself for a few hours.  It was weird, I used to relish those types of days.  I’d sit around the house in my pjs, watch tv, play xbox or just surf the net.  But yesterday I was feeling kind of restless and bored.  I went to look for the popper and then I didn’t really know what to do with myself.

I guess I am less willing to waste time these days.  Though I still wouldn’t say I was terribly productive yesterday.  I am in transition!  Yeah that’s it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

