Posted by: smortimer | 2009/04/29

My new project

I have actually decided to build a garden bench,  and I am going to use a plan I have pretty adapted on my own.  I am going to use the basic frame from the workbench I just built.  But shorter obviously and I am going to try and make it a little more “pretty”, I am going to sand the 2X4s, and paint or stain it.

I will get photos of the build and post them.  Last night I went and got the wood, along with carpenter pencils, a sanding block and some sand paper.  Brought everything home and then started with some number crunching.  The seat of the bench is going to be 20″ off the ground and 24″ deep, with a 12″ back and the bench will be 3 feet wide.   It will be made out of 2x4s so it’s most likely going to be kind of heavy.  But I don’t plan on moving it around all that much, I am either going to leave it in my backyard or possibly put it out on my front porch.  I was bar-b-q’ing on Monday night out front and realized I had no where to sit whilst I grilled.  It would be nice to be able to relax and enjoy the outdoors.  My only concerned is that the bench may get stolen or vandalized.  Though if it’s heavy I will only have to worry about the latter.

I have plans for making Adirondack chairs, I’d really like to try those.  They might be a little harder though.  If the bench is a success though I will give them a try.

Leave a Reply

Categories

