Posted by: smortimer | 2009/04/14

Goals

Sometimes I feel like I am running around like the proverbial chicken.  I have a lot of good and some even great ideas, but I don’t seem to have a lot of success following through on them.  I don’t really set goals and I think this may be the problem.  I have no plan, I just kind of bounce through life, taking things as they come.  Life should be about more than just getting by, just making ends meet and we should all have goals and dreams.  I am going to work on my goals.

The way I see it, there are several types or categories of goals.  Short term goals, things you’d like to accomplish in the next 6-24 months, you know things like pay off a student loan or a credit card.  Mid term goals, maybe a year to three years out, learn to play an intrument, or speak a new language.  I understand that while it is possible to learn to play a guitar in year or so, you are not going to be Stevie Ray Vaughn in that short a time.  Longer term goals, and these are the ones that would most likely also fall into the dream category, open up your own restaurant, write a novel, design and build your dream house.  I have several of each and I want to start writing them down, figuring out how to make them happen and then get to work on them.

Short Term Goals:

  • Pay off my visa card
  • Set up my own website
  • Read the Wine Bible
  • Plant and maintain a square foot garden
  • Landscape/plan our backyard so that we can entertain back there, Bar-b-q etc.

Mid Term Goals

  • Pay off all debts except mortgage
  • Learn to play the guitar, I’d like to be able to play several songs off the top of my head as well as feel comfortable reading music for new songs
  • Refresh my French speaking skills
  • Learn enough about home maintenance and repair that I do not have to call a “handyman” when something breaks at home

Long Term Goals

  • Pay off mortgage within 15 years
  • Open a restaurant
  • Spend a 3-6 months travelling the wine regions of Europe
  • Learn 2 more languages, Korean (my wife is Korean) and Spanish I am thinking
  • Write a culinary book
  • Write a novel

Wow I have a lot of work to do.  I have been thinking of things for a while now.  But that is the first time I have really written things out so I can see them.  It’s going to take me some time just to figure out what the plans for all these things are.  Some will be pretty easy.  Paying off the debts is just simple math.  Reading has never been a problem for me, so that one will most likely work itself out.  Working out the longer goals is going to be challenging though.

Well I had better get started!

Leave a Reply

Categories

