Posted by: smortimer | 2009/04/13

Better eating

This week I am going to work on how and what I eat.  I am going to see if I can totally avoid eating any fast/processed food.  So far I have had a bowl of PC Blue Menu Multi Grain Oatmeal, for my purposes I am not counting this oatmeal as processed food.

Now I have a to do list for today:

1. Go to the grocery store near my work to get some fruits/veggies for snacking at my desk.  I did this a few weeks ago and it actually worked out ok.

2. Go to the Kitchen Stuff Plus on Yonge and pick up a proper bowl and a metal spoon for my oatmeals.  I used a coffee mug and a plastic spoon this morning, and it’s rather difficult to stir the oatmeal in the mug with these spoons.  And I think the plastic may melt in the hot oatmeal.

3. Get some dried blueberries or raisins or dried cranberries, and maybe some nuts.  This “healthy” oatmeal is rather bland, I need some flavour to add to it.

Now I also need to work on lunches.  I will see if I can find anything at the grocery store this morning.  I have had a real challenge getting into the habit of bringing my lunches.  I know that it is healthier for me and it will save me a ton of money, but I just can’t seem to get into the routine.  I get a couple of days of bringing in my lunch and then fall off the wagon and it’s back to spending $7 to $11 a lunch for usually crappy food.

I also often spend $3.50 for a coffee and a bagel from the coffee shop on my way in every morning and then hit the Starbucks once my co-workers get in for my daily Grande Americano.  That’s another $2.70.  So $6 on breakfast and coffees, and then at least $7 on lunches, every day I am at work.  $65 a week and I am not even really enjoying the food all that much.  I could really use that money for something else and my belly could definately use the healthier food!

So here we go let’s see if I can do a whole week and then go from there.

Leave a Reply

Categories

